Interesting facts about the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024!

Sankalp Harikrishnan

England are the defending champions at the 2024 ICC T20 World Cup; they won the tournament in 2022, becoming the first men’s team to hold the ODI and T20 World Cups simultaneously.

England t20 world cup 2022

Only two teams have won the ICC T20 World Cup more than once: West Indies (2012, 2016) and England (2010, 2022).

England and west indies

Virat Kohli holds the record for Most Runs (1141), Highest Average (81.50), Most Fifties (14), Most Runs in a Single Edition (319) at Men’s T20 World Cups.

virat kohli

Rohit Sharma and Shakib Al Hasan are the only two players to have played in every ICC T20 World Cup tournament thus far, and will feature in the 2024 edition too.

Rohit Sharma and Shakib Al Hasan

USA will play host to an ICC Men’s T20 World Cup for the first time in history.


The ICC Men’s T20 World Cup trophy is made of rhodium and silver; it weighs over 7 kg and stands at 51 cm in height. The trophy was manufactured by Links of London - a British company.

T20 world cup trophy

The 2024 ICC T20 World Cup starts on 2 June 2024, a week after the 2024 IPL Final. Surprisingly, the summit clash between the Kolkata Knight Riders and Sunrisers Hyderabad did not feature a single player from the Indian squad for the T20 World Cup.


Sri Lanka’s Wanindu Hasaranga holds the record for Most Wickets in a Single Edition (16), Best Bowling Average (11.45), Best Strike Rate (11.80) at the Men’s T20 World Cups.

Wanindu Hasaranga

Three teams are tied in terms of most finals made at the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup: Sri Lanka, England and Pakistan (3 Finals Each).

Sri Lanka, England and Pakistan

The 2024 ICC T20 World Cup will feature a record 20 participating teams; this is an increase from 16 teams in the 2022 edition of the tournament.

T20 world cup 2024 - 20 teams

Legendary Jamaican athlete Usain Bolt was named as a brand ambassador for the 2024 Men’s ICC T20 World Cup, alongside former cricketers Shahid Afridi, Yuvraj Singh and Chris Gayle

Usain Bolt

Uganda and Canada will be making their debut at the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup in 2024, by virtue of qualification. On the other hand, USA is also a first-time participant by virtue of being a co-host.

T20 world cup

The qualification for the 2024 T20 World Cup was determined by: Two host nations, top eight teams from the 2022 T20 World Cup, next two best ranked teams from the ICC Rankings, eight teams through qualification.

2024 Line up

The hosts for the 2024 ICC Men’s T20 World Cup were decided by a joint bid submitted by West Indies and USA, after a strategic alliance and two years of preparation.

T20 world cup 2024

The highly anticipated India vs Pakistan clash is scheduled for June 9, at the new Nassau County Stadium in New York. The 34,000 capacity arena was built specifically for the 2024 T20 World Cup, and reportedly cost around $30 million.

Nassau County International Cricket Stadium
Riddle | Imge Credit: Pinterest